CWI researcher winner of the 2017 young researcher award

Tim Baarslag of CWI at Amsterdam Science Park was announced as the winner of the 2017 ERCIM Cor Baayen Young Researcher Award - in a very tough competition with 15 finalists - on 24 October 2017. This European prize is awarded each year to a promising young researcher in computer science and applied mathematics. The award committee recognized Tim Baarslag’s skills and results: "His enthusiasm for internationally oriented research cooperation, his talent for recognizing the potential use of mathematical tools, and his cooperative skills make him a young researcher of outstanding quality".

Source: CWI

The committee wrote: "Tim has obtained some very impressive scientific results. His PhD dissertation was awarded cum laude, which is conferred to less than 5% of doctoral candidates at the Delft University of Technology. His dissertation won the 2014 Victor Lesser Distinguished Dissertation Runner-up Award in recognition of an exceptional and highly impressive dissertation in the area of autonomous agents and multiagent systems. He was shortlisted for the 2014 Artificial Intelligence Dissertation Award, which recognizes the best doctoral dissertations in the general area of artificial intelligence. His dissertation is also published by the Springer Theses 'the best of the best' series, which recognizes outstanding PhD research by selecting the very best PhD theses from around the world for their scientific excellence and high impact on research".

They added: "Tim has made a real scientific impact with his work since embarking on his PhD in 2010. He has already published over 40 articles, in collaboration with 35 researchers from 17 international institutes and five industrial partners. His research is published in the highest ranking publications in his field, including the top journal Artificial Intelligence and top conferences such as IJCAI, ECAI, AAAI and AAMAS. His research on how artificial intelligence can help negotiate better deals for humans was recently featured in Science. His achievements point to great promise for his future work and for others who build on it.

Tim is actively engaged in the broader computing community and highly involved with the most eminent researchers within computer science and mathematics. In 2016, he was selected as one of 200 highly talented, preeminent young researchers in mathematics and computer scientists from over 50 countries for the Heidelberg Laureate Forum scholarship. In 2017, he was selected from over 300 applicants as an outstanding early career individual in the field of computing to take part in the ACM Future of Computing Academy and attend the 2017 Turing Award ceremony, in an effort to support and foster the next generation of computing professionals."

The Cor Baayen Young Researcher Award was created in 1995 to honour the first ERCIM President, former CWI director Cor Baayen, and carries a prize of € 5000.